Posted on

Robert Barr

Robert Barr (1849 – 1912) was a Scottish-Canadian-English novelist and short story author who also published under the pen name Luke Smart. He was born in Glasgow, Scotland and emigrated to Canada with his parents in 1853 when he was four years old.
In 1881, Barr relocated to London where he embarked on his most prolific stint of writing, publishing a work a year throughout the 1890s. His favorite genre was crime. We feature his work in our collection of Mystery Stories.

Short Stories

  • A Case of Fever
  • A Deal on ‘Change’
  • A Dramatic Point
  • A Dynamite Explosion
  • A Ladies Man
  • A Modern Samson
  • An Alpine Divorce
  • “And the Rigour of the Game”
  • An Electrical Slip
  • An International Row
  • An Invitation
  • A Society for the Reformation of Poker Players
  • Converted
  • Count Konrad’s Courtship
  • Gentlemen: The King!
  • How the Captain Got His Steamer Out
  • Miss McMillan
  • Mrs. Tremain
  • My Stowaway
  • Not According to the Code
  • “Out of Thun”
  • Over the Stelvio Pass
  • Purification
  • Share and Share Alike
  • The Ambassador’s Pigeons
  • The Archbishop’s Gift
  • The Bromley Gibberts Story
  • The Count’s Apology
  • The Exposure of Lord Stansford
  • The Hour and the Man
  • The Hour-Glass
  • The Long Ladder
  • The Man Who was not on the Passenger List
  • The Purser’s Story
  • The Shadow of the Greenback
  • The Terrible Experience of Plodkins
  • The Understudy
  • The Vengeance of the Dead
  • The Warrior Maid of San Carlos
  • Transformation
  • Two Florentine Balconies
  • Which Was the Murderer?