Posted on

Kathleen Norris

Kathleen Thompson Norris (1880 – 1966) was an American novelist and short story writer married to the writer Frank Norris. A native of San Francisco, she began her career as a newspaper writer. She progressed from stories to magazine articles to novels.
She was the highest paid female writer of her time. Many of her novels are set in the San Francisco area and detail the lifestyle of the upper-class.
She was a member of the American First Committee which opposed American involvement in World War II.


  • The Story of Julia Page
  • Short Stories

  • Austin’s Girl
  • Bridging the Years
  • Dr. Bates and Miss Sally
  • Gayley the Troubadour
  • Making Allowances for Mamma
  • Miss Mix, Kidnapper
  • Poor, Dear Margaret Kirby
  • Rising Water
  • Rosemary’s Stepmother
  • Shandon Waters
  • “S is for Shiftless Susanna”
  • The Gay Deceiver
  • The Last Carolan
  • The Measure of Margaret Coppered
  • The Rainbow’s End
  • The Tide-Marsh
  • What Happened to Alanna
  • Essays

  • The Joys of the Poor