Posted on

Eugene O’Neill

Eugene O’Neill (1888 – 1953) was an American playwright who introduced Realism into American drama, likened to the works of Anton Chekhov, Henrik Ibsen, and August Strindberg. O’Neill featured hopeless characters on the fringe of society, and his dialog used “real” American vernacular. All told, O’Neill earned four Pulitzer Prizes for Drama:
Beyond the Horizon (1920)
Anna Christie (1922)
Strange Interlude (1928)
Long Day’s Journey Into Night (1957)
In 1936, he was named a Nobel laureate in Literature. His highest regarded drama, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (1941-42) is on the short list of outstanding plays from the 20th century. We look forward to more of Mr. O’Neill’s works being available in the public domain. We feature O’Neill in our collection of Pulitzer Prize Winners.