Posted on

Algernon Blackwood

English born in 1869, Algernon Blackwood, a journalist and broadcast narrator, was one of the most prolific writers of ghost stories in the history of the genre. His short story collection Incredible Adventures (1914) is categorized by paranormal buffs as “weird fiction” but many of his stories belong to the Gothic genre where he mixes elements of horror and romance.
A Haunted Island, The Strange Adventures of a Private Secretary in New York, and Skeleton Lake: An Episode in Camp are enough to send shivers down your spine!
Blackwood’s stories typically induce a sense of awe, rather than horror. As quoted in Peter Penzoldt’s The Supernatural in Fiction (1952) Blackwood sums up his writing this way:
Gothic and horror fans will wish to read The Willows (1907), one of Blackwood’s most famous short stories (it’s a long short story, and I have categorized it under the Novella rather than Short Story section). The Wendigo is his other famous classic. It’s based on a creature from Algonquian folk myth, it was written after Blackwood returned from a remote hunting trip in Canada.
I also adore his short story, The Olive. This story is more about chance, circumstance and what might be made of them than it is about anything supernatural. It is highly recommended.
Blackwood passed away in December 1951, after suffering a series of strokes.
Blackwood is featured in our Gothic Literature Study Guide. Enjoy reading his works and many other spooky tales in our Gothic, Ghost, Horror & Weird Library and Halloween Stories


  • A Prisoner in Fairyland
  • A Psychical Invasion
  • John Silence, Physician Extraordinary
  • The Centaur
  • The Damned
  • The Extra Day
  • The Garden of Survival
  • The Human Chord
  • The Man Whom the Trees Loved
  • The Wendigo
  • Short Stories

  • A Case of Eavesdropping
  • Accessory Before the Fact
  • A Haunted Island
  • Ancient Lights
  • A Suspicious Gift
  • Keeping His Promise
  • Max Hensig
  • Sand
  • Skeleton Lake: An Episode in Camp
  • Smith: An Episode in a Lodging-House
  • The Empty House
  • The Glamour of the Snow
  • The Goblin’s Collection
  • The Insanity of Jones
  • The Kit-Bag
  • The Listener
  • The Little Beggar
  • The Man Who Found Out
  • The Olive
  • The Return
  • The Second Generation
  • The Singular Death of Morton
  • The Strange Adventures of a Private Secretary in New York
  • The Woman’s Ghost Story
  • The Wood of the Dead
  • With Intent to Steal